India & Nepal 2012

 
 

By Mayuko & Maria

Picture
Cheryl, Emi, Shinichi & Mayuko at the library. 図書館の前☆
今日はジェームスさんが建てた図書館に行きました。スタディーツアーで初のボランティア活動でした。今日と明日の2日間そこでボランティア活動をします。
Today we went to the library that James built and it was also the first volunteer work that we did. We will be working there for the next 2 days.

Picture
James and Cheryl in front of the library. It was built brick by brick. Sugoi!
Picture
The government school right next door. It's been in this stage of half completion for the past 20 years. すぐ隣にある国立小学校。こんな半分完成の状態が20年以上続いているそうです。
図書館の第一印象は、内装がすごくキュートでジェームスさんが一人で建てたということに驚きました。隣の小学校の子ども達はとてもフレンドリーで、たくさん話しかけてくれました。そのおかげで昨日より英語を話す事が出来ました。

My first impression of the place was that the library was very cute and I was very surprised to hear that James had built the place all on his own. The kids at the school were very friendly and talkative, so I was able to practice my English a lot more than I was able to yesterday! 

Picture
Picture
Adorable kids that requested their photo to be taken :)
Picture

今日は近くの小学校の修理を手伝わせて頂きました。メグと真一は鉄の策のさびを落として、ペンキを塗る作業を担当しました。

Today we helped with improvements for the local school. Meg and Shinichi were in charge of sanding the rust off the metal bars and painting it.

Picture
Shinichi with our happy helpers! ^^
Picture
Meg trying her hand at painting ^^
シェリルとまゆ子は木造のドアや扉を紙ヤスリで磨いてからペンキのベースを塗って、その上からペンキを塗る作業を担当しました。

Cheryl and I were in charge of sanding the wooden surfaces of the door and windows and painting it.

Picture
Cheryl and Mayuko sanding the doors before applying primer.
Picture
枝美は白い壁に花や蝶の絵を書く作業をしました。今日すでにその一部が完成し、随分明るくなりました!

Emi painted a picture of flowers and butterflies on a white wall. Part of it is already complete, and it looks alot brighter. 

Picture
Emi sketching the mural.
Picture
In progress
Picture
She even got a little team helping
Picture
The final product!
明日も同じ作業をするので、今日よりはかどればいいと思います。
 今日はいなかったまりあもいることだし(笑)期待してます!

あと、今日はたくさんの交通機関を利用しました。写真など詳しくはまた明日アップロードします^^*

We will be doing the same kind of work tomorrow so I hope that we will be able to work even harder and get even more done. Tomorrow Maria will be with us too so we will be expecting good results! 

Today we used many types of public transportation and it was very exciting. We will be posting those pictures tomorrow, so stay tuned :) 

Tomoko Kitano
8/25/2011 12:49:05 am

皆さん、早速、アクティブに活動をしていて、素晴らしいですね。
カラフルな壁画も素敵です。

こうして、ブログをアップしてくれて、嬉しいです。ありがとう。

まりあが少し熱を出したって聞きましたが(もう良くなったということなので、良かったです!)、みなさんの健康のために日々祈っていますね!!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.